Melbourne Cup Past Winners - Champions

Where thoroughbred legacies are concerned, winning the Melbourne Cup guarantees any horse a secure place in history, even if there is nothing else noteworthy in its career.

Being the longest, richest, most prestigious and one of the oldest races on the Australian racing calendar, the Melbourne Cup victory has come to represent greatness in a horse and many of the winners rewarded their connections with fame and prestige, as well as enhancing stud fees for both the winning runner and its bloodlines.

Of course, many a mighty champions of the past have never cracked the list of Melbourne Cup winners due to bad fortune, a preference for middle distance events, or some combination of these two and other factors.


Famous Of The Melbourne Cup Past Winners

There has not been a multiple winner since 2005, when Makybe Diva took the post for an unprecedented third time to go along with her wins in 2003 and 2004.

Makybe Diva

Makybe Diva

It requires a trip back in time to exactly 30 years prior to Makybe Diva’s third win in 2005 to find another multiple winner, this two-timer Think Big in 1974 and 1975.

Past Winners Rain Lover won first in 1968 and repeated in 1969.

Next back was Peter Pan in 1932 and 1934. This is the only horse to have ever won twice with an intervening year. He was held out in 1933 due to a near-fatal illness. The highly respectable Hall Mark won that year, in a field that contained aged Phar Lap.

Perhaps the last multiple winner on the list, Archer, deserves some additional credit for having won not just the inaugural Melbourne Cup in 1861 but also the next in 1862.

When you consider that The Race That Stops a Nation has been held over 150 times, it is almost incomprehensible that there have only been five multiple winners, but when the size of the field is considered, there have been only 15 occasions when fewer than 20 competitors took part. On 17 runnings, 30 or more horses were in contention.

The list of one-time winners is also quite impressive.

Track conditions and strategy would of course have to be accounted for, but nonetheless, Kingston Rule, the 1990 winner, must be mentioned as the fastest at 3.16.30.

From our list of multiple winners, Archer and Rain Lover are again notable for having dominated by eight lengths, in 1862 and 1968, respectively.

The record for weight carried belongs to Carbine in 1890. This champion was so formidable that he was given 68 kg, using modern measurements. Makybe Diva was the mare to carry the highest weight, being burdened with 58 kg in 2005.

As far as rewarding the few punters with sufficient clairvoyance to back a long shot, on three occasions, a 100-1 payday was there on The Pearl in 1871, Wotan in 1936 and Old Rowley in 1940.

On the other side of the equation, Phar Lap’s victory in 1930 was worth $1.72.

Melbourne Cup Past Winners

Phar Lap

Odds followers will note that the statistics concerning favourites, that of producing winners about 1/3rd of the time is 10 percent lower for The Melbourne Cup at 23 percent.

To conclude this look at famous Melbourne Cup past winners, it is necessary to include mention of those few that have accomplished the rare feat of winning The Melbourne Cup and Caulfield Cup in the same season.

This has happened on only 11 occasions to date, and many punters, justifiably, would give this accomplishment equal weight to winning The Melbourne Cup more than once.

Ethereal is the last to manage the feat, that coming in 2001. Might And Power took the Cups in 1997 en route to winning almost half of his 33 jumps. Like Might And Power, another Kiwi gelding, Doriemus, was there in 1995. He would win only seven other times in 44 tries.

Almost incomprehensibly, it was another Kiwi runner, this one the formidable mare Let’s Elope that took the Cups double only four years previous, in 1991, perhaps proving conclusively and for all time that New Zealand prowess when it comes to producing stayers is difficult to surpass. But then, Gurner’s Lane, another gelding from New Zealand was the Cups double winner in 1982.

The list continues with yet another Kiwi gelding, Galilee in 1966, winner of exactly half of his 36 starts. He was preceded by another-you guessed it-New Zealander going by the name of Even Stevens, in 1962.

In 1954, Rising Fast captured the double, and to avoid excessive redundancy, we will not mention his country of origin. He is the only horse in history to add the Cox Plate to his Cups double.

Rivette was the first mare, an Australian one at that, to win the double in 1939.

The list of distinguished names of horses that have won the Melbourne Cup and otherwise brought themselves credit on the Australian turf is long and illustrious.

A Complete List Of Past Winners

Year Past Winners Melbourne Cup
2019 Vow And Declare
2018 Cross Counter
2017 Rekindling
2016 Almandin
2015 Prince Of Penzance
2014 Protectionist
2013 Fiorente
2012 Green Moon
2011 Dunaden
2010 Americain
2009 Shocking
2008 Viewed
2007 Efficient
2006 Delta Blues
2005 Makybe Diva
2004 Makybe Diva
2003 Makybe Diva
2002 Media Puzzle
2001 Ethereal
2000 Brew
1999 Rogan Josh
1998 Jezabeel
1997 Might And Power
1996 Saintly
1995 Doriemus
1994 Jeune
1993 Vintage Crop
1992 Subzero
1991 Let’s Elope
1990 Kingston Rule
1989 Tawrrific
1988 Empire Rose
1987 Kensei
1986 At Talaq
1985 What A Nuisance
1984 Black Knight
1983 Kiwi
1982 Gurner’s Lane
1981 Just A Dash
1980 Beldale Ball
1979 Hyperno
1978 Arwon
1977 Gold And Black
1976 Van Der Hum
1975 Think Big
1974 Think Big
1973 Gala Supreme
1972 Piping Lane
1971 Silver Knight
1970 Baghdad Note
1969 Rain Lover
1968 Rain Lover
1967 Red Handed
1966 Galilee
1965 Light Fingers
1964 Polo Prince
1963 Gatum Gatum
1962 Even Stevens
1961 Lord Fury
1960 Hi Jinx
1959 Macdougal
1958 Baystone
1957 Straight Draw
1956 Evening Peal
1955 Toparoa
1954 Rising Fast
1953 Wodalla
1952 Dalray
1951 Delta
1950 Comic Court
1949 Foxzami
1948 Rimfire
1947 Hiraji
1946 Russia
1945 Rainbird
1944 Sirius
1943 Dark Felt
1942 Colonus
1941 Skipton
1940 Old Rowley
1939 Rivette
1938 Catalogue
1937 The Trump
1936 Wotan
1935 Marabou
1934 Peter Pan
1933 Hall Mark
1932 Peter Pan
1931 White Nose
1930 Phar Lap
1929 Nightmarch
1928 Statesman
1927 Trivalve
1926 Spearfelt
1925 Windbag
1924 Backwood
1923 Bitalli
1922 King Ingoda
1921 Sister Olive
1920 Poitrel
1919 Artilleryman
1918 Night Watch
1917 Westcourt
1916 Sasanof
1915 Patrobas
1914 Kingsburgh
1913 Posinatus
1912 Piastre
1911 The Parisian
1910 Comedy King
1909 Prince Foote
1908 Lord Nolan
1907 Apologue
1906 Poseidon
1905 Blue Spec
1904 Acrasia
1903 Lord Cardigan
1902 The Victory
1901 Revenue
1900 Clean Sweep
1899 Merriwee
1898 The Grafter
1897 Gaulus
1896 Newhaven
1895 Auraria
1894 Patron
1893 Tarcoola
1892 Glenloth
1891 Malvolio
1890 Carbine
1889 Bravo
1888 Mentor
1887 Dunlop
1886 Arsenal
1885 Sheet Anchor
1884 Malua
1883 Martini Henry
1882 The Assyrian
1881 Zulu
1880 Grand Flaneur
1879 Darriwell
1878 Calamia
1877 Chester
1876 Briseis
1875 Wolloma
1874 Haricot
1873 Don Juan
1872 The Quack
1871 The Pearl
1870 Nimblefoot
1869 Warrior
1868 Glencoe
1867 Tim Whiffler
1866 The Barb
1865 Toryboy
1864 Lantern
1863 Banker
1862 Archer
1861 Archer